The Renewable Energy Association of Sierra Leone (REASL) has on Thursday 11th July 2019 conducted elections to select new executive members to the organization’s board.

GIZ Energising Development project (EnDev) was mandated to act as returning officers and conduct the elections. This was to ensure that the process was transparent and deemed free and fair by all.

Before the elections, the minutes of the last AGM was adopted by the members of the association and the outgoing executive board dissolved.

The elections started with the reading of the elections procedures by Foday Sheku Dumbuya (EnDev) to make sure that all delegates understand the rules governing the elections. This was followed by nominations and election of the president. Two people contested for the presidency (Wordsworth Cole and Kofi Macauley) and Kofi Macauley emerged as the winner with 53% of the votes cast.

Sophie Johnson (Outgoing president) welcoming the president-elect Kofi Macauley

The president-elect proceeded to facilitate the conduct of elections of the position of vice president, finance director and four (4) board of directors.

Below is the full list of the elected REASL executive members.

  1. Kofi Macauley – President
  2. Samuel Zoker – Vice President
  3. Dilip Narwani – Finance Director
  4. Muctarr Turay – Board of Director 1
  5. Alex Toure – Board of Director 2
  6. Leah Suma – Board of Director 3
  7. Grace Gaye – Board of Director 4
L-R (Golda Williams, Leah Suma, Sophie Johnson, Kofi Macauley, Grace Gaye, Sam Zoker, Muctarr Turay, Alex Toure)                          

We look forward to a more vibrant association.